Skip to content

Thoughts from the Peaks

July 15, 2011

A few weeks back we went on a jaunt to the Peak District– and I’ve only just got around to looking at the photos…

The Peak District is certainly very, er…. peak-y. If you want to go anywhere, it involves going uphill and along a bit, and then downhill, and then up again. Which is a bit of a contrast to flat-as-a-pancake Oxfordshire.  But makes for buns of steel. And some spectacular scenery.

Did that just sound very Mary Bennett from Pride and Prejudice in full boring dinner conversation mode: “The North of England, I believe, Mr Wickham, boasts some spectacular scenery.”

Actually, Pride and Prejudice was very much on our minds, because of course Elizabeth Bennett visits the Peak District in the book, and bits of the 2005 P&P film were shot there. (Thoughts on the film? I liked it a LOT- especially the look of it- the costume, ah, the costume!, the locations, and the golden, saturated photography. The only thing that stops it from being absolute PERFECTION is Mr Darcy, who I think is completely miscast, but there we go.)

So the photo at the top of this post is Robin doing his best Keira Knightley impression on Stanage Edge, which is where Elizabeth stands and admires the view. (To the right is the original still from the film.)

The location used for Pemberley in the film is Chatsworth, which we visited. And you may remember there’s a moment when Elizabeth admires a breathtaking sculpture?

Well, it’s every bit as breathtaking close-up. For me, it really is one of the highlights of Chatsworth. It’s the Veiled Vestal Virgin, by Raffaele Monti, and what makes you stop and stare for ages is how the stone has been sculpted to create the effect of a fine chiffon.A hard material used to become a soft one- a kind of alchemy? Your mind knows it’s marble, but all you can see is softness-incredible.

Speaking of hard becoming soft, here’s a couple of other sculptures. What splendid chaps! Again, the way the stone has been worked creates a softness- a texture that reads to the eye exactly like silky fur.

You could almost stroke them, couldn’t you?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    July 15, 2011 3:30 pm

    Loved the post. These are things that a girl from Arizona will probably never see. So this was the next best thing!

    • glassoffashion permalink*
      July 16, 2011 1:36 pm

      Hi Jamie- Ah, you MIGHT see them one day………
      And then, you do have the Grand Canyon, which probably makes the Peak District seem like…. Holland?!?
      But I’m glad you liked the post- thank you!! :)

  2. Rebecca permalink
    July 16, 2011 12:25 pm

    What lovely pictures! I sent the link to my son who loves sculpture. The veiling is amazing. But on the P and P vein, I am not a fan of KK’s P and P–felt rushed and perfunctory to me. The A & E one with Colin Firth is far and away my favorite. Unfortunately the recent version of Jane Eyre had the same “let’s cram it in for our twitter-minded fans!” feeling. . . Oh, but there’s an English teacher rant you DON’T need!

    • glassoffashion permalink*
      July 16, 2011 1:32 pm

      I agree- there’s definitely bits in the Keira P&P where they hurry through the plot. But personally I don’t mind, because P&P (although a great book and v. enjoyable) is not a book that would make it into my top 10. So I didn’t mind them playing fast and loose with it :)

      Jane Eyre, mind you, is a Totally Different Matter. It’s one of my all time favourite books- and I haven’t seen the new film, because I am so fond of the book (and I’ve been known when provoked to put forward the unpopular opinion that it’s a greater work than P&P…) I might catch it on DVD if I’m feeling strong, thought the trailer didn’t sell it to me- and your comment makes me fear the worst! The only film version I’ve seen is the Zeffirelli one with Charlotte Gainsbourg in (who I think makes an amazing Jane). I saw that version when it came out in 1996, and rented it again recently, and was disappointed that it just wasn’t as good as I remember it. Funny how the memory plays tricks. And, speaking of playing fast and loose with plots, they managed to leave out Jane’s entire time with the Rivers family. .

      Wow, that turned into a rant in return, didn’t it?! Thanks for saying nice things about the pics :)

  3. Rebecca permalink
    July 16, 2011 10:41 pm

    It was funny: I went with students as we’d read the book for school, and they were right on all the bits that got changed . . Basically (this may keep you from renting the dvd) the new version cut the ins and outs of Jane’s time at Lowwood AND also the development of her relationship with Rochester, so he was just bossing her around all the time, and there was no reason for her obedience at all, unlike in the novel where you see them really learn about e/o’s individuality and come to honor it. A friend lent me the two tape VCR set, which I forgot about till now, but may watch. She raved about it!
    Annnnnnyway: it was fun to discuss novels with you! I enjoy your blog!

Leave a Reply

