Skip to content

Desert Rose…

May 3, 2011

Crossing the Sahara desert in a caravan? Rose thought she’d never heard anything quite so delicious. And, after all, Algiers to Khartoum was a long way, so it was just as well to be comfortable. 

She’d been thinking perhaps a Winnebago, or even a VW camper van. Although she’d have settled for some a kind of gypsy caravan- a darling little wooden one, painted yellow, and drawn by horses.

But there’d obviously been some kind of horrible misunderstanding. Because the little group of locals who’d met her at the airport were all absolutely charming, but they seemed to be expecting her to climb on a camel. 

(Perhaps the camel would take her to her caravan…?)

I find myself being drawn more and more to 70s patterns (and I never thought I’d be typing that!). At their best, the cut is effortless- and there’s something about the simplicity and downright wearability of this pattern that just seems perfect for summer.

(I just wish I could pull off a turban like the model on the envelope….)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2011 4:11 pm

    Holy Cow…I made that! lime green poly knit. So nice of you to remember what I was doing.

    • glassoffashion permalink*
      May 4, 2011 1:38 pm

      Seriously?!? How funny! Do you still have it? I hope you loved it and wore it to death :)

Leave a Reply

