Skip to content

Kittenz and sewing macheenz…

April 6, 2011

Because there’s nothing that sells a sewing machine like KITTENS.

This is part of an early advert for Elna Sewing Machines, which are apparently:

The ad appears in my Vogue pattern book for Dec/Jan 1957/8, and features a competition that offered readers a chance to win a free sewing machine. All they had to do was spot which of the two kitten pictures were identical.

I’ve been staring at this for a ridiculously long time now, and ALL the pictures still look exactly the same to me. You?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 3:52 pm

    I think bottom right you can see the “E”

  2. Stella permalink
    April 10, 2011 12:38 am

    I think 2 and 3 are the same! It’s the writing between the kitten’s ears:

    1 looks like ELNA
    2 and 3 look like INR
    4 looks like IMR
    5 looks like INS
    6 looks like ELN

    Well, on the tiny image it does anyway!

    • glassoffashion permalink
      April 12, 2011 9:40 am

      Stella,
      Hurrah- I think you’ve cracked it! Good job- especially from the tiny illustration (yep, that it the actual size). I’m sure if this was 1957 you’d have a state of the art sewing machine on its way to you. (Personally I think I’d rather have the kitten…)
      Fiona

Leave a Reply

