Skip to content

Not a wobble bottom in sight

February 21, 2011

Well, well, what do we have here? At first glance, a rather zingy little 60s advert. But for what, exactly? Sunglasses, perhaps? The latest resort wear? Relocating to the South of France where your petits enfants can water les petites fleurs while you swan around all cool and chic before whipping up something spiffy for lunch?

Mais non. A bottom-shaping pantie girdle for wearing under your trousers/pants.

Now I think I’ve been quite stern about this before. Because what’s so ludicrous is the total contradiction in the message here: for total relaxed low-maintenance chic, on breezy weekends when all you want to do is kick back in your garden in a pair of trousers/pants, you’ll definitely want to wear this industrial strength pantie girdle, which also has built in suspenders.

And all this, of course, when you’re already a minus dress size, and have absolutely no wobble bottom to speak of.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 5:38 pm

    HA! Great post! This is hilarious.

  2. Jamie Hall permalink
    February 27, 2011 1:57 pm

    Oh my gosh…I stumbled across your darling site early this morning…and what a gem! I can’t believe I’ve missed you all this time. I spent a good while just perusing your wonderfully witty posts, and I even laughed out loud…while I had diet dr. pepper in my mouth. (I won’t go into details, but the nose WAS almost involved. Yes, it was a close call.) I will definately be hanging around more often. Looked for a place to “follow”, but didn’t see one, so I put you on my favorites. Love your fictitional “scenarios”…keep ’em coming!
    jamie in az

    • glassoffashion permalink
      February 28, 2011 11:13 am

      Hi Jamie,
      Well, what a nice start to my day to read your lovely comment! Thanks so much for all your kind words :) I can just imagine the Dr Pepper incident. I hope your computer will forgive you (but at least it wasn’t HOT COFFEE….!)
      All the best, Fiona.
      ps. I tweaked your message so your email address doesn’t display in your comment- hope that’s OK. Didn’t want you to be spammed to oblivion….

  3. Jamie Hall permalink
    March 1, 2011 3:09 am

    Thanks for taking it off…I wasn’t thinking, obviously! And thanks for replying back…I am getting e-mail notification so I won’t miss any, and saw your comment. Have a great day! (I am going to look through my vintage patterns, and maybe have a go at one of them. You’ve peaked my interest again!) Jamie in az

    • glassoffashion permalink
      March 1, 2011 7:14 pm

      :) Glad to have both peaked and piqued your interest- happy sewing! Fiona

  4. Jamie Hall permalink
    March 1, 2011 3:16 am

    OOPS…I think it should have read “piqued” instead of “peaked”! But I guess that I should have payed attention in English 102 (and maybe English 101). Sorry! But you know us Americans…we kind of twist and distort the English language at will. (According to my English Grandfather, anyway!) Jamie

  5. lindyhopper permalink
    March 2, 2011 4:08 pm

    Very funny! The girl in the picture looks as if she’ll never need any wobble control and how would you bend down gardening wearing such armour!

  6. March 19, 2011 12:51 pm

    i just happened upon your site!! loooooooooooove it! will definitely bookmark it for further visits. thank you. it just makes me wish i was still 25! ha ha oh well………

Leave a Reply

