Skip to content

Warm hands, cold heart

January 26, 2011
tags:

I’ve never owned a pair of mittens before. I’ve always been a smidgen suspicious about the practicality of them.

But over Christmas, I was smitten. I was seduced. Seduced by the easy way a mitten offers itself up to knitters- could there be an easier shaped canvas for colourwork (no tricky fingers!)? And seduced by the beautiful pattern Andalus by Heather Desserud (which is available free on Ravelry- log in/sign up required.)

These are knit in Hedgehog fibres Merino/cashmere fingering in Cold Heart, and an ivory 100% cashmere. The ivory cashmere “bloomed” into fuzzy unexpected softness as soon as I soaked these, hence the blurry kind of halo…

Having finished knitting them up, I love them. I could look at them for hours. But, at the same time, I find myself a little… restricted when wearing them. (I KNEW I WAS RIGHT!)

They are a triumph of beauty over practicality, a victory for form over function. Effectively, they’re little straightjackets for the hands. I can’t write in them, drink a cup of coffee in them or light a lantern, despite the rather carefully staged photos on this page. I certainly can’t operate a camera in them.


There is one thing I can do (and I’m not counting breathing, sleeping or thinking). Watch television. The trouble is, I get distracted. I start examining my mittens instead.

They’ve also become a great excuse: “I’m sorry, I can’t wash up/answer the phone/make the tea, because I’m WEARING MITTENS”. (Accompanied by a gesture of holding up both mittened hands.)

No, it doesn’t always work.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lindyhopper permalink
    January 26, 2011 5:37 pm

    They look absolutely beautiful and so warm. what a complicated looking pattern, well done. Good excuse though for not doing anything! Perhaps I should get a pair!

  2. January 26, 2011 5:41 pm

    Gorgeous! I am working on my first pair, as well. I love the color work. I hope they get used. :)

  3. January 26, 2011 7:04 pm

    Was thinking of you just the other day and now here you are with my favorite mitten pattern, done gorgeously, enticingly. Ah, so, your hands truly tied? Oh, the things we do for Beauty!

  4. glassoffashion permalink
    February 2, 2011 5:06 pm

    Thanks so much!
    Mary Beth- your favourite mitten pattern?- gosh, glad I made the right choice! :)

  5. Gry permalink
    February 6, 2011 2:52 pm

    They are beautiful! It is funny that you think mittens are so unpractical. I usually wear long gloves, that look great with my three-quarter length sleeves, or they would, except I always end up pushing them a bit down, so the fingers aren’t in the fingers of the gloves. It looks stupid, but feels a lot warmer, so I do it without thinking. Whenever I catch myself doing it, I think that I ought to get a pair of unstylish mittens instead of the unpractical gloves. I guess it depends why you doing – for walking mittens are very practical.

    • glassoffashion permalink
      February 7, 2011 11:56 am

      That’s so funny! I’m totally the opposite- whenever I wear fingered gloves I spend the whole time tugging them up my wrists so there’s no space at all in the fingers. I just can’t stand it when they feel like they’re falling off :)

Leave a Reply

