Skip to content

Ruffled…

November 5, 2010

I think I actually squealed when this photo arrived in my inbox this morning!

Shermy sent it because she knew I was dying to see what she did with a vintage pattern she bought from me a while back. So of course I had to ask if I could share her work here on the blog, and she graciously agreed.

Isn’t this just gorgeous? I love everything about it: the choice of colours and fabrics, and the whole look with the shades and the shoes. Shermy writes that she actually chose the colours of the playsuit to match those shoes (and that she’s glad she went with gingham for the ruffles because it thinner and easier to work with). And see that little co-ordinating pin cushion she’s holding! Just fabulous.

Here’s the original pattern- it’s Simplicity 1982:

 

The original photo was entered in a photography competition, and when she’s not whipping up cute vintage sunsuits Shermy’s a wedding photographer. She and her Dad work together, and you might like to check out their site, Riddle Inc., for more gorgeous photography (mute your speakers if you’re at work :)): www.riddleincphotography.com.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    November 5, 2010 2:00 pm

    Wow- that is amazing. And Shermy’s version far surpasses the pattern illustration!

  2. November 5, 2010 6:06 pm

    Wow! That’s so fabulous! I had NO idea that would be so cute made up. Makes me want to make it, too :)

  3. November 15, 2010 10:16 pm

    That is very adorable! I am struggling to remember clothes of such cuteness from back then – I was eleven.

  4. December 1, 2010 5:23 pm

    awsome job, the detailing is worth commeting on Wow

Leave a Reply

