Skip to content

Can’t shop, won’t shop…

October 1, 2010

“Ability to make rational purchasing decision: Zero.”

An odd and random thought occurred to me today, while taking stock of my autumn clothing situation. That I couldn’t remember the last time I actually went into a shop to buy any new clothes. (Is that a bit odd for someone who writes a blog called Glass of Fashion?)

I certainly remember the last garment I made, and I dimly recall the last thing I bought online. (Two T-shirts- different colours, same style, at the beginning of the summer). But actually walking into a shop to look for clothes? Nope. Can’t remember; it’s been that long. Real-time clothes shopping is an art, a skill, and, put simply, it’s a skill I don’t possess.

If any imaginary Tim Gunn-esque style guru was to take me sternly in hand and whisk me out for a day’s clothes shopping, my imaginary report card would read something like this:

  1. Ability to peruse entire store and select suitable/desirable/flattering garments: Poor.
  2. Further ability to refine these down to number of items actually permitted in changing room: Questionable.
  3. Ability to work out how clothes will look when not on hanger or folded flat: Below average.
  4. Ability to fold T-shirts/sweaters back into perfect shape on shelves after disturbing them: Laughable.
  5. Stamina when trying on six different outfits in cubicle the size of a telephone box: Low.
  6. Paranoia level that prices might be lower on store’s website: High.
  7. Ability to make rational purchasing decision: Zero.
  8. Level of relaxed enjoyment and general well-being: Minimal.

(Actually, though, shopping with Tim Gunn would probably be a lot of fun.)

Does anyone remember the doubt that was cast over online clothes shopping back when it was still a novelty? That we customers would never buy clothes online because we couldn’t try them on? All hail to the internet gods for revolutionizing clothes shopping! After all, there are no queues. The size and colour you want are (for the most part) always in stock. No sales assistant is going to approach as soon as you pick anything up and ask if they can take it off you.  (I’ve never worked out why they do this: do they think you’re going to make a run for it? Or is this perceived to be a “high level of customer service”?)

And, and, when you shop on line there’s no Christmas muzak in October…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 1:37 pm

    This is so funny! I totally get where you’re coming from. My shopping report card would probably look pretty much the same. I’ve gotten pretty darn good at estate sales, though! – Susan

    • glassoffashion permalink*
      October 4, 2010 12:56 pm

      I’m so glad it’s not just me! Ah, estate sales are a whole different kettle of fish entirely :)

Leave a Reply

