Skip to content

Funny Face: finished!

March 2, 2010

Last night I spent a while uploading my final screenshots to the Funny Face section of Project Audrey here. I’ve been putting it off for a bit, as it’s a time-consuming process. Especially because Funny Face is such a costume-heavy film! Which I’m sure was entirely deliberate, and is part of its “wish-fulfillment” allure for an audience. After all, Audrey Hepburn’s character Jo not only gets to star in her very own solo catwalk show, but also gets to model a glamorous array of outfits for a magazine photoshoot around Paris. But so many outfits means that some of Audrey’s costumes get literally only seconds of screen time (which also makes getting decent pictures tricksy!).

I love the film’s photoshoot sequences- Fred Astaire’s character attempts to coach Jo how to model for the camera by giving her little stories and reference points: “A rendezvous at the opera. Two seats. He didn’t show up. You’re furious. When I say go, walk down with fire in your eyes and murder on your mind…”

And then there’s the moment he realises Jo has outgrown him and can now make up her own stories: “I know. I’m a princess at a ball. The bird is Prince Charming, turned into a bird by a sorcerer. But we’ve decided not to let it spoil the ball and to go on dancing as if nothing had happened….”

(By the way, I’m intrigued by the skirt on this particular dress. The roses look as if they are embroidered on a fairly thick silk, but as such a thick silk wouldn’t gather into the waist, it looks as if the embroidered section is mounted on a thinner silk around the hip:)

While screenshotting, I started to notice the sheer number of gowns Audrey wears that have floating panels at the back:

(A number only equalled by the vast array of sailor collar jackets that Kay Thompson’s character Maggie Prescott seems to have tucked away in her wardrobe…)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 3:39 pm

    ooh this one was “low on plot, heavy on eye candy” as far as I’m concerned, so the screenshots are the best part! When I was in hospital last year, I watched through my Audrey Hepburn boxed set (plus half of the Marilyn Monroe one, plus all 5 seasons of The Wire, Forever Knight, and started on Woody Allen…) so I finally feel caught up with the cultural references!

    (I think Sabrina was my favourite though – love those Parisian cookery classes!)

  2. March 21, 2010 6:12 pm

    Inspired by your pics, I got FF on my Netflix and, fittingly, settled down to knit on the last 3″ of my second Charybdis sock while watching it.

    And

    I know that musicals aren’t much on logic, etc, but. . . perhaps I missed something. . . but I was left lukewarmed by it. Maybe it was Fred Astaire looking so haggard compared to Audrey’s beauty (did not buy that love story!), maybe it was the odd leaps in the story: she goes from frumpy clerk to willing model with so little to do (which would’ve been fun to see!), maybe it was the number of songs that didn’t seem to work (Hepburn’s voice seemed quite weak), maybe it was the “clearly daylight, meant to be nighttime” final scene at the church, once again complete with doves, but I didn’t like it.

    However, the dresses were great!

    Am I missing something else? Or it is really a Musical to Watch for Other Reasons, like the costuming? Or am I just in a late March funk and am too critical and grumpy?

    • glassoffashion permalink*
      March 22, 2010 3:45 pm

      Hi Becky, Sorry to hear that Funny Face was so disappointing! I do think plot is not the reason for watching it- as you say, it is definitely a Musical to Watch for Other Reasons (should we abbreviate that to MWOR!?) Personally I will sit through anything that has Audrey Hepburn wearing a gratuitous number of couture outfits, but that’s just me :) I agree that Fred Astaire does seem a little old for Hepburn (and so, I think, does Bogart in Sabrina). I hope the socks were less of a disappointment than the film…

  3. March 22, 2010 10:24 pm

    I ADORE the socks. ADORE! Sorry to leave THAT bit of info out!!!! They are for my sis-in-law who has, in her own words, “big trotters”, but I enjoy the pattern so much that I am feeling a little sad to be approaching the second cast-off! I will send a picture and more slavishly adoring prose once that bind off actually occurs.

    The next question is: do I make Scylla next?

    And for whom?

    Thanks for your design mojo–it is terrific!

  4. March 23, 2010 1:27 am

    AHem. Okay. Now you’re in trouble.

    I finished Charybdis and tried (her? it?) on.

    I WANT A PAIR FOR MYSELF! So comfy, so lovely, so nicely constructed!

    Is my ‘to knit’ list never going to get shorter?

Leave a Reply

