Skip to content

An unwelcome guest

November 12, 2009

This is where I wish I was right now- in the white hot light of a dazzling mediterranean morning. Standing on the terracotta shore of some sun drenched island. The livid blue of the sea stretching onto infinity, and the certainty that soon there will be a swim in waters warm as bathwater. Breathing in the scent of pine and eucalyptus. A balmy sea breeze ruffling my cool frock…

Instead of sitting here in two jumpers, a scarf and fingerless gloves. Ah, Winter! Some days I enjoy your stark beauty, on those bright clear icy days with a glittering frost. But no matter how many times you turn up, you’re always a shock, and never (to be frank) entirely welcome. It’s hard to believe in the certainty that you’ll be gone in a few months, but I guess we’ll have to rub along together till then. So here’s the plan- I’ll cook comforting food, knit more socks and wrap up warm, and you’ll lay off the monotonous grey skies, chilly dampness and colds and flu. Deal?

 

Image from Vie Parisienne Magazine, Feb 1922

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Egle permalink
    November 12, 2009 8:48 pm

    This picture reminds me of the beautiful film Isadora (1968).

    • glassoffashion permalink
      November 14, 2009 12:40 pm

      Oh, I’ve never seen it! I’ll have to check it out…. :)

  2. November 16, 2009 1:27 am

    Oh, please let me swap you some of our disgustingly hot spring weather, gaurenteed over 30 degrees, with a side order of scorched grass and sunburn.

    • glassoffashion permalink
      November 16, 2009 8:39 am

      Oh dear, poor you, that does not sound good at all. Suddenly wintry cold dampness seems infinitely more appealing…

  3. Lindyhopper permalink
    November 22, 2009 5:21 pm

    I feel the same about winter and miss not being able to get into the garden. But the other day I read an article that made me accept the wind and rain more readily. It stated that nature needs winter to rest and recover from the frantic pace of Spring and Summer – all that growing and producing fruit etc; growing new plumage and frantically feeding their young; and us all rushing about in the sun and tending the garden/farm. So by now we all need the winter to hibernate, wrap up warm and rest until Spring. So, with the wind whistling outside, I keep reminding myself of this!!

    • glassoffashion permalink
      November 26, 2009 4:05 pm

      That’s a nice way to think about the winter- a time of rest for nature as well as us. I’ll definitely try to keep that in mind!

Leave a Reply

