Skip to content

Spoilt rotten

September 8, 2009
tags:

My feet have never had it so good. As far as they know it’s not Christmas, so I must be attempting to atone for years of neglect. Years of neglect in which they shivered through Autumn and froze through winter. Years in which they were forced into hole-y shrunken socks. But now, now, there have been two pairs of handknit socks in about as many weeks!

AND I’m coddling them in handspun, no less. This 2-ply merino yarn is by Krysten over at Gherkin’s Bucket, and the colourway is ‘Hunger’- a gorgeous vibrant combination of yellows, pinks and greys. Handspun, ah, I have a weakness for it (especially when it’s not spun by me) but I’m never very good at knowing what to use it for. So that’s why this yarn has been in my stash for about a year now.

The socks are knit using Grumperina’s great Jaywalker sock pattern, which I’ve modified to knit toe up, magic loop style with aran weight yarn (my mod. notes are on Ravelry here– login required for both links). I think it shows off the handspun nicely, without being too busy. The socks are a mite tight around the top of the heel/ankle, and I can see there’s a little gap at the top of the heel I’ll have to fill, but my feet don’t care.

Don’t get too used to it, O favoured feet of mine. It can’t last.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lindyhopper permalink
    September 11, 2009 3:43 pm

    What a gorgeous colour mixture, very Scottish heather, and they certainly look cosy. Very unusual patterning, must be your own design!

Leave a Reply

