Skip to content

Introducing Project Audrey

June 11, 2009

I’m having a major early 60s kick at the moment, which is more modern than I usually get :) I think it might be something to do with the 60s Vogue pattern I listed yesterday. There was just something so chic about it that before I knew it I was pulling the movie “Paris when it Sizzles” off the shelf and compiling a load of reference images using screenshots.

Apparently this film was riddled with diffficulties, and (I hate to admit) it’s not a great film. William Holden, who had had an affair with Hepburn during the making of Sabrina a decade earlier, attempted without success to rekindle a romance with the now-married Hepburn during filming. (Hepburn’s husband Mel Ferrer makes a cameo appearance in this film.) Holden’s alcoholism was also a constant challenge for the film’s director, who moved into a rented house next to Holden’s during production to keep an eye on him. Holden later commented on both of the problems:

I remember the day I arrived at Orly Airport for Paris When It Sizzles. I could hear my footsteps echoing against the walls of the transit corridor, just like a condemned man walking the last mile. I realized that I had to face Audrey and I had to deal with my drinking. And I didn’t think I could handle either situation.

from http://www.tcm.com/tcmdb/title.jsp?stid=86269&category=Articles


When I’d finished I thought perhaps I’d upload the screenshots so that any of you who are interested could look too. There was something about the early 1960s, which was all about a cool, subtle elegance. And no one typifies that cool subtle elegance more than Audrey Hepburn. It was all about looking put together, inhabiting your clothes rather than letting them inhabit you. I’ve always found the costume in Paris when it sizzles memorable. (The costumier was Hubert de Givenchy so I guess that’s not a surprise.) Partly because the costume in incidental. I realise that Breakfast at Tiffanys and Roman Holiday are a lot more well known from a costume perspective. That black dress she wears in Breakfast at Tiffanys! That trench coat! That Roman Holiday full skirt! But Paris when it sizzles is just about outfits that take Audrey chicly through the film. Outfits like armour that you can live in. So I’ve set up what I’m calling “Project Audrey“. I’m going to put my reference images up by film on the new page you see in the nav bar called Project Audrey. I hope you all like it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2009 2:01 pm

    I love the clothes Audrey Hepburne wears in “Charade” (which by the way was made the year before “Paris when it sizzles” and uses some of the same locations). There are also some great sixties outfits in “How to steal a million”, but outfit-wise I think Charade is my favourite Audrey Hepburne movie.

    • glassoffashion permalink*
      June 16, 2009 7:25 pm

      Wow. I have to let you into a secret. I’ve never seen Charade. And I’ve never seen How to Steal a Million either! But I’m looking forward to watching both of them as Project Audrey progresses!

Leave a Reply

