Skip to content

Unseasonable sockness

May 11, 2009
tags:

The time of the sock is almost through here in the UK (hopefully). I can feel the time of the summer sandal is approaching…

But I couldn’t resist finishing off one final pair of socks. I just couldn’t bear for them to hibernate all summer in a sorry half-finished forgotten forlorn state. I finished them yesterday and wore them immediately, desperate to wear them as much as possible before the sizzling summer we’ve been promised looms into view.

 

 

The pattern is Judy Becker’s Snake River Socks and it’s brilliant. Full of neat little touches that mean you don’t get a gap either side of your heel or ladders up the sides of the sock if you knit magic loop. The river pattern (which doesn’t involve any cabling) flows seamlessly into the heel and into the ribbing at the top of the sock.

 

The yarn (whose combination of sea greens and blues I can’t do justice to in photos) was also gorgeous. It’s Kypria by the Sanguine Gryphon in the colourway Thetis (merino, bamboo and nylon mix). But I think you’ve heard me rhapsodise about it before. Thetis was a sea nymph in Ancient Greek mythology, so I think of these as my Sea Nymph Socks. Not that I’m very nymphlike in them, but a sea nymph I’m sure would thoroughly approve of the happy mixture of yarn and pattern.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Charlotte permalink
    May 12, 2009 10:09 am

    Beautiful :)
    I know what you mean about hibernating- I find it reeeeeeelly difficult to carry on knitting something I haven’t touched for months.

Leave a Reply

