Skip to content

Snow White in the snow

February 6, 2009
tags:

Another knit off the needles: Snow White in the snow.

This was knit using the genius pattern that is Ysolda Teague’s Snow White. Basically, the body and sleeves are both knit in the round up to the underarm. Then, by cunning which I can’t even begin to explain properly, the sleeves are simply knitted onto the body and the top of the rib section at the back is worked flat back and forth. The stocking stitch section at the top back is worked in from each side in two halves, which are then grafted together. I made a bit of a hash of the grafting but I like a few imperfections in my hand knits- it makes them look less like they’re been knitted by a machine. (That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.)

I lengthened the sleeves, knitting an extra 19 rounds in between pattern rows 137 and 138. Trying it on when it was finished I was apprehensive: it was a little on the snug side and I found myself wishing I’d knitted the next size up. But washing and blocking it means that it’s now loosened up a fair bit and is actually a good fit. The sleeves are even longer now, and fall over my hands a little as the pattern intends.

 

The yarn is Sublime’s Merino Cashmere Silk Aran, in colourway Clipper.
Warning: this is a high maintenance yarn. So beautiful and silky and soft when I was knitting, but even after one outing it’s beginning to pill and look a little worse for wear. Overall I’m pleased with the result- this is such a clever well written pattern. 

For me personally this is not a sweater to just “throw on and go”- I have to spend a little time in front of the mirror untwisting my ribs so that my torso doesn’t look horribly deformed. I’m also still trying to work out what looks best underneath it. In the pics I’m wearing a silk shirt which flattens down underneath without adding bulk. Snow White also looks good without anything underneath (although strapless underwear is required) but for me personally that would be a bit revealing for everyday wear (maybe for dressing up, though)…

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2009 10:03 pm

    I am officially learning how to knit as of this minute. I looooove it :)

  2. February 7, 2009 2:40 am

    I, too, am officially learning to knit. I have a How to Knit CD and bought a knitting kit from Walmart. I love that sweater.

  3. February 7, 2009 6:59 am

    Fabulous!

  4. lindyhopper permalink
    February 9, 2009 11:16 am

    Wow, that looks very complicated, but it fits you beautifully.

  5. February 10, 2009 3:45 pm

    Congratulations on finishing a sweater, it’s an epic task! Your snow white is extremely pretty, I love the way the ribbing creates the bodice effect.

  6. February 18, 2009 2:02 pm

    What a flattering top! Ah, if only I knit. It is the one domestic skill I have on the back burner here in 1955. Maybe, someday, maybe if I do 1956!

Leave a Reply

