Skip to content

Conspicuous gallantry

November 6, 2008
tags: ,

This afternoon I’ve been playing with colour.

A riot of ribbons. Vintage grosgrain ribbons, which are actually probably ribbon used for displaying and wearing medals. I just couldn’t resist weaving them all into a big mass of stripey brights. It strikes me that the resulting “fabric” would look funky used in a variety of ways: a wall hanging or a mat or a rug or bag, a woven stool/chair seat or even a simply skirt or jacket or perhaps a psychedelic and challenging chess board…


If I was a dyer of yarn (and I suspect I’m not following my little episode with the blackberries) I’d definitely be using some of these colour combinations. Think of the great names you could use for the different yarn colourways: “distinguished conduct”, “conspicuous gallantry” and “mention in dispatches”.

Oh no, unruly ribbons are escaping!

Back in your box, you pesky ribbons.

That’s better.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 12:50 pm

    Enjoyed your thoughtful dissection of Joseph Southall’s Southwold pics. Roger Fry was a po-faced pseud – funny how much more modern dyspeptic old Southall seems today than some of the modish rubbish he propounded

    I stumbled on your blog by accident because I was researching Southall and it’s a breath of fresh air

Leave a Reply

